The Low-Hanging Fruit Theory is NOT a Dating Strategy

There’s this really cute guy I know who always dates the most alias girls. I know what you’re thinking. “What,Tee! That’s super rude! Why would you say that?” But they ARE alias, guys! I mean, this guy is smart, good looking, dresses nicely, etc. He has a college degree and comes from a nice family. But he always dates…randoms. The girls are never very smart…or very cute…or particularly well-spoken… so I’m really confused. I wonder why this guy keeps dating these types of girls. Then, one day while in a business meeting, it hit me square in the face. IT’S THE LOW-HANGING FRUIT THEORY! OF COURSE! For those of you who aren’t familiar with this term, let me explain. In the corporate world, companies use the phrase “low-hanging fruit” when referring to easy consumer targets/markets.

The WiseGeek defines low-hanging fruit this way:

We have Mother Nature to thank for the expression low hanging fruit. A fruit-bearing tree often contains some branches low enough for animals and humans to reach without much effort. The fruit contained on these lower branches may be not be as ripe or attractive as the fruit on higher limbs, but it is usually more abundant and easier to harvest. From this we get the popular expression “low hanging fruit”, which generally means selecting the easiest targets with the least amount of effort.

That’s it! That’s why he’s dating these girls! They may not be the most attractive girls, but they are easily obtained with the least amount of effort. Okay, so I get that part. But what I don’t get is WHY ISN’T he putting in any effort to get quality girls? I mean, like I said before, he’s a nice guy, attractive, well-spoken, all of that. Why is he being lazy about dating? Doesn’t he know that this behavior can lower his stock? And before you call me a jerk again, how many of us have seen a potential suitor’s ex and think, “Ummm nope. Not doing it. I won’t be put into THAT category.” Even The WiseGeek agrees with me!

On the one hand,low hanging fruit is usually plentiful and often ignored by those looking for more attractive offerings. But low hanging fruit can also be seen as a negative, since the picker understands how low the quality of the fruit can be and picks it anyway. Someone who consistently chooses the immediate gratification of low hanging fruit could be seen by others as lazy or unambitious.

So why is he doing this? Fellas, please? A little input on this one, because I just don’t get it. Ladies, feel free to weigh in as well. And to be fair, it’s not like I spend a lot of time with these girls, so they may have qualities that I’m just not aware of. I mean, it’s not like I’m dating them, so I guess I really wouldn’t know.  But as far as I can tell, using the “Low-Hanging Fruit Theory” as a dating strategy is no strategy at all….

quotes c/o The WiseGeek http://www.wisegeek.com/what-is-low-hanging-fruit.htm

Posted on April 19, 2012, in Philosophies R Us, Relationships and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

