The Freshman 15, III

Okay, people.  We are down to the wire.  I have exactly three weeks left until I head to Miami.  Needless to say, I slipped up on my diet/workout plan a few times (mostly with cocktails, because, well, I love cocktails…LOL). I began to feel like I wasn’t doing too well and the spectre of South Beach judgement began to haunt my dreams.  Then, last night, a friend called me and said that her friend saw a picture of me on facebook from a night with Big Ang.  Yes, THAT Big Ang, but let me explain…LOL.

Just so you know, I’m not exactly what you might call the biggest Reality TV fan.  Honesty, I’m not a fan of it at all, but that’s not the point of this story. One night I was at a party hosted by Big Ang from VH1’s Mob Wives. I ended up taking picture with Big Ang and a few other people that night and one of the photographers from the event uploaded the photos to Facebook.  Yesterday, a fried of mine called me to say that that HER friend saw those facebook photos.  This is a direct quote from that phone conversation:

“Oh My God! Tee’s b00bs are huge!  I’ll bet they don’t sag at all.  And they look so perfect, just like her arms…I hate her.”

Needless to say, I was taken aback, and for several reasons.  Firstly, if you guys read the first Freshman 15 post, you know that I had a supreme and utter lack of boobs in both high school and much of college, so all this b00bie attention is somewhat new to me.  Secondly, my arms are by far my MOST HATED body part, and I just KNEW they were flabby and loose enough to serve as wings to fly me down to Miami for this bachelorette party.  I had NO idea I had made any progress at all on my biceps and triceps…(or lack thereof as far as I thought) I guess I was wrong.

However, on a more serious note, often times, we as women have such a negative view of our own bodies, even as we make progress. We’re so obsessed with certain body parts we get stuck there and fail to see our own progress. This is not a healthy mindset and we all (me included) need to work on correcting this. We need our minds to be healthy, as well as our bodies.

So, the moral of this story?  It’s possible for your personal perceptions of your body to be skewed, so it’s important to have supportive, motivational and candid people around you.  And you should take pictures at parties with Big Ang 😉

Posted on March 10, 2012, in Diet and Exercise, Philosophies R Us and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

